Parliament Session Commences: New MPs Take Oath

Parliament Session, Lok Sabha Speaker, NEET Row
Share If You Like The Article

The halls of Parliament resonated with the solemn oaths of newly-elected Members of Parliament today, marking the inaugural session following the recent Lok Sabha elections. Among the prominent figures who pledged to serve the nation was Prime Minister Narendra Modi himself, underscoring the beginning of a new legislative term.

Key Highlights of the Day:

  1. Pro-Tem Speaker Administered Oath: BJP MP Bhartruhari Mahtab was appointed as the Pro-Tem Speaker, a role traditionally held by the senior-most parliamentarian. President Droupadi Murmu conferred the responsibility at the Rashtrapati Bhavan, initiating proceedings for the day.
  2. Oath-Taking Continues: Approximately 280 MPs affirmed their commitment in today’s ceremony. Tomorrow, the remaining 260 members, including Congress MP Rahul Gandhi, are slated to take their oaths.
  3. PM Modi’s Address: Ahead of the session, Prime Minister Modi addressed the nation, criticizing the Congress and highlighting issues such as the Emergency as threats to democracy. He emphasized the need for substantive debates over mere slogans in Parliament.
  4. Controversy over Pro-Tem Speaker: The appointment of Bhartruhari Mahtab stirred controversy, with the Congress expressing disappointment over the decision. They had advocated for Kodikunnil Suresh, a veteran Dalit leader, to assume the temporary role.
  5. Upcoming Speaker Election: The election of the Lok Sabha Speaker is scheduled for June 26. Until then, the Pro-Tem Speaker will oversee proceedings, including the election of the Speaker and Deputy Speaker.
  6. Legislative Agendas: PM Modi is expected to announce the Speaker’s nomination shortly after the session’s commencement. The session’s agenda includes crucial discussions on recent competitive exam irregularities and reforms.
  7. Exam Reforms and Protests: Recent controversies surrounding exams like NEET and NET have prompted government action, including the replacement of the National Testing Agency’s Director General. The Congress has voiced strong objections, demanding reforms and ministerial accountability.
  8. New Legislation: A new law targeting exam malpractices has been enacted, imposing severe penalties for offenders. The move aims to uphold the integrity of competitive exams, crucial for millions of aspiring students across the country.
  9. Opposition’s Stand: Congress leader Rahul Gandhi vowed to raise the exam issues in Parliament, promising to press the government for justice and accountability.
  10. President’s Address: President Droupadi Murmu will address both houses of Parliament on June 27, outlining the government’s roadmap for the upcoming term. The session is set to conclude on July 3, marking a pivotal period for legislative priorities and national governance.

Stay tuned as this session unfolds, shaping the course of India’s governance and policies in the years ahead. Follow us for more updates on this evolving parliamentary session and its impact on national affairs.

Share If You Like The Article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *